

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2024

Selected theme 701 (GGY 701)

Qualification	Postgraduate
Faculty	Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
Module credits	15.00
NQF Level	08
Programmes	BSocSciHons (Geography) Geography and Environmental Science
	BScHons (Geography) Geography and Environmental Science
	BScHons Meteorology
Prerequisites	No prerequisites.
Contact time	28 contact hours
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Geography Geoinformatics and Meteorology
Period of presentation	Year

Module content

A self-study module on an aspect or aspects of geographical or environmental science selected in consultation with the head of the department from: (a) themes not covered in existing options; or (b) educational subjects.

General Academic Regulations and Student Rules

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information

The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project



The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.